Black Authors / Black Lives

Drama Lit
Pearl Cleage
Eric Jerome Dickey
Yvvette Edwards (The Mother)
Shelly Ellis
Terry McMillan
Kimberla Lawson Roby (Christian)
Alice Walker
Carl Weber

Street Fic / Urban
Ashley (Antoinette) & JaQuavis (Coleman
Wahida Clark
Donald Goines
K’wan
Sapphire
Sister Souljah
Vickie Stringer
Kiki Swinson
Nikki Turner
Omar Tyree
Teri Woods
Romance
Rochelle Alers (contemporary)
Tracy Brown
Vanessa Davis Griggs
E. Lynn Harris (contemporary LGBTQ)
Donna Hill
Cheris Hodges (contemporary)
Brenda Jackson (contemporary)
Beverly Jenkins (contemporary, historical)
Mary Monroe
Francis Ray

Mystery/Suspense
Rachel Howzell Hall
Attica Locke
Alexander McCall Smith (character Precious Ramotswe; author is white)
Walter Mosley
Valerie Wilson Wesley

Erotica
Cairo
Mary B. Morrison
Noire
Zane

Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
L.A. Banks
Octavia Butler
Tanarive Due
Nalo Hopkinson
N.K. Jemisin
Charles Saunders
Rivers Solomon (An Unkindness of Ghosts)

Literary
James Baldwin
W.E.B. DuBois
Ralph Ellison
Ernest J. Gaines
Yaa Gyasi
Lorraine Hansberry
Zora Neale Hurston
Tayari Jones (An American Marriage)
Toni Morrison
Ishmael Reed
Zadie Smith
Jesmyn Ward
Colson Whitehead
Richard Wright

Children/Teen
Jabari Asim (infant/board books)
Coe Booth
Christopher Paul Curtis
Sharon Draper
Sharon Flake
Nikki Grimes
Angela Johnson
Anna McQuinn
Walter Dean Myers
Andrea Davis Pinkney
Jacqueline Woodson

QBR-The Black Book Review
This website not only gives street lit readers information on upcoming books but advertises events that street lit readers may be interested in. Some events advertised are Book Expo America and the Harlem Book Fair in July.
Street Fiction
The definitive site when it comes to street lit, StreetFiction.org has it all. Created by Daniel Marcou, a correctional facility librarian, it contains the most comprehensive listing of street lit resources. In addition to author interviews, reader and professional reviews, it also provides links to stories in the mainstream media about street lit and major street lit authors. If you are looking for a place to start your search for street lit, this is the website to visit.